What's this fluid coming from my new 250

Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

What's this fluid coming from my new 250

Postby worstell » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:12 pm

Total 2 stroke noob here ...

Picked up my new 2016 250 from the dealer yesterday. When I unloaded it from the truck I noticed what appeared to be fuel in the bed of the truck. I assumed it was a common problem with the carb float level that I have read about here. I think I'll take it back to the dealer to adjust the float level because removing the car looks like a pain in the ass. If anyone can point me to directions on how to remove the carb, I might do it myself.

After I rode the bike around the neighborhood for about 20 minutes, I noticed some fluid on top of the swing arm. It appears to be coming from the drain on the bottom of the air box. I've attached one picture of the top of the swing arm just below the airbox, and one of the bottom of the air box. Anybody know what I'm looking at here? I assume it is 2 stroke engine oil, but not sure.

Edit: Apparently my pics were too big, so I will describe it instead. The first pic showed a dark green-blue flue on the swingarm just behind the shock and pooled in the recessed bolt access to the chain slider. The second showed what appears to be the same fluid coming from the drain hole on the bottom of the air box, immediately above the the wet spots on the swingarm
2018 Beta 390 RR-S
2016 Beta 250RR sold
2013 KTM 350 XCF-W sold
worstell

Re: What's this fluid coming from my new 250

Postby ricoyam » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:24 pm

Pull out the air filter, take it off the cage and knead it to redistribute the oil. That should fix your problem. The filter is probably over oiled and from sitting, the oil is dripping off. Quite a common situation.