I frickin hate jetting - help on 250RR

Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

I frickin hate jetting - help on 250RR

Postby worstell » Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:41 pm

As an engineer, I find both jetting and suspension tuning closer to black magic than actual science. It just seems like guess work.

I have a 2016 250 RR set via the factory jetting chart for my riding conditions. I live in Colorado and mostly ride at 7,500 to 10,000 feet at aprox 60 to 80 F. The problem I have is when trying to cross large rocks or logs from a near standstill or very slow speed. I twist the throttle hoping to lift the front end, and the engine fails to respond. I don't know if that is termed a flat spot, burble, or what, but it sucks. I decided to compare the Beta 250RR and KTM 250 XC-W owners manual settings since both use the Keihin PWK 36S AG carburetor:

Beta 250RR: Air Screw=2.5 turns; Pilot Jet=35; Main Jet=158; Needle=NOZK; Needle Position=1
KTM 250XCW: Air Screw=2.0 turns; Pilot Jet=38; Main Jet=172; Needle=N2ZJ; Needle Position=2

I think that the needle designations might be specific to the manufacturer, but the N2ZJ specified for the KTM 250 is the same specifed for the Beta 300 for even lower elevation/colder temps.

So the KTM jetting specs seem to be massively richer across the board, or at the very least across idle and the pilot circuit. But perhaps despite having the same Keihin model number, PWK 36S AG, the carbs aren't identical between KTM and Beta. And if so, then they can't be compared directly as I have done.

This makes me want to go back to fuel injected 4-stroke.

BTW, I don't think it is my technique. Never had any trouble lifting the front end on my 350 XCF-W.

Thanks for any wisdom you all can share on my dilemma.
Last edited by worstell on Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2018 Beta 390 RR-S
2016 Beta 250RR sold
2013 KTM 350 XCF-W sold
worstell

Re: I frickin hate jetting - help on 250RR

Postby hooter » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:02 pm