KYB forks into Beta

Tuning and maintenance of forks, shocks, etc.

KYB forks into Beta

Postby masta-BETA » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:25 pm

Hey there guys, I'm interested in swapping out my sachs forks as I just don't feel confident in them, I've been reading your guys threads on this conversion could someone point me to the right thread or let me know which Yamaha forks will fit into the beta clamps and what I need to do for this conversion I may have access to either 06 wr450f or 07 yz250f forks are either of these any good for this conversion do I need the Yamaha axle, what do I need in the way of spacer, caliper using the Beta front wheel. All information very much appreciated as I'm not very technically minded. Cheers Richard
masta-BETA

Re: KYB forks into Beta

Postby redrider » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:59 pm

From what I've gathered recently....

2008 and earlier KYB SSS have a larger diameter upper tube at the top triple so you'll need an upper triple clamp made (contact 'twowheels' in this forum).

2009-2014 yz450f & yz250f KYB SSS forks will mount directly into the Beta triple clamps. (2014 has a different axle diameter though)

yz250f/yz125 KYBs are 5mm shorter than the SACHS and the yz450f/yz250 KYBs are 5mm longer.

Yes you need the Yamaha axle as the modified spacers will make up the difference in axle diameter to the Beta wheel bearings(or you could just run a yamaha wheel and trim the left side spacer to center the wheel).

You'll need a different Caliper mounting bracket (hanger) from "Braking" , POW106 is the part number. I think the Beta front wheel disc is 260mm and the yamaha is 250mm.

WR KYBs are probably all open chamber forks like the SACHS I think.

This is just what I've gathered after asking the same questions as you in recent weeks though I have not completed the project. For the best info, pm 'twowheels' and/or 'GMP' as they've actually done this conversion.
redrider

Postby twowheels » Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:07 pm