Clake SLR and hi performance line

Feedback & Comments on Products Tested

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby betajuice » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:19 am

Just thought I'd mention Clake have finally got some decent installation instructions happening... seems they've been so swamped by the demand they wanted to do proper instructions but never got enough spare time.

CLAKE TWO INSTALLATION VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOJ_sr4RE0o
CLAKE ONE LIGHT CLUTCH INSTALLATION VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KXwMKiT6mw&t=1s

Very glad to see they've made this happen, they were known for outstanding customer service prior to international demand kicking in so strongly, and it seems now they've finally caught up they are rolling out the support too. :mrgreen:
betajuice
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby thebob_za » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:57 am

Owen from Clake is a champ. Always answers my emails and is super patient with me. I hope Clake as a company goes from strength to strength
thebob_za
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:18 am

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:05 pm

The last time I was at bike territory on my own the clutch played up. It would just go away. I phoned Owen and he gave me some clues on possible causes.

I bled it and filled it and miraculously it worked great again. Owen told me to buy a lottery ticket.

Maybe it had an eyelash in there. It will occasionally do it now so possibly the slave seal is slightly buggered.

I ride round it now, if I have the clutch in for any length of time I just release and reapply, no prob.

If it ever cacks itself I'll fix it.
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:42 pm

Clutch has ceased to operate correctly...

If you slip it at all, it will just start driving, you need to fully release it then reapply.

It's at the shop with a brand new slave cylinder unit getting fitted.

Not the soft option metro clutch, the standard one.

You know, that a man wouldn't have any difficulties with...

I think the slave unit got pizzled with the endless attempts at getting the system bled.

If that doesn't fix it, the Clake slr will go back to Owen for rebuilding.
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Bandicoot » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:32 pm

Johnno wrote:Clutch has ceased to operate correctly...

If you slip it at all, it will just start driving, you need to fully release it then reapply.

It's at the shop with a brand new slave cylinder unit getting fitted.

Not the soft option metro clutch, the standard one.

You know, that a man wouldn't have any difficulties with...

I think the slave unit got pizzled with the endless attempts at getting the system bled.

If that doesn't fix it, the Clake slr will go back to Owen for rebuilding.


Ive had 2 slave seals go on me in under 70hrs one on a smoker one on a 480 ...
The seal is pinched on most from NEW and it eventually lets go ... its only about $25 for the rebuild kit on the slave anyway :)
Darren ..
If your not ridin' ... Your dyin' .. !!!
Keep on Roostin'
Bandicoot
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 3:40 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:02 pm

The whole thing with everything included is $66 delivered.

I hoped that it would assembled, it wasn't

Wonder what a ktm one worth, 2 grand?
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:06 pm

Fail.

New slave didn't resolve the issue.

Clake to be removed and returned to Owen for assessment.
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:41 pm

I sent the slr back a few weeks ago, really starting to wonder what is happening on that front.

It's not like ringing them does any good....
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby McKay » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:41 am

Sent my Pro lever back to them in December, still waiting........... Wouldn't bleed on clutch side, kept getting micro bubbles. Owen spent a lot of time with me on phone trying to get it right but we couldn't. Ive tried calling him all week, it goes straight to voicemail now =(
McKay
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:29 am

Re: Clake SLR and hi performance line

Postby Johnno » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:43 pm

I think he's on holiday.

He sent me a text saying as much a few weeks ago.

I called the other number and spoke to the guy to confirm they'd received my SLR, he did so and read the letter that accompanied it.

We discussed the letter, the SLR and my issue with it and he said he'd get the guys to look at it.

As far as I knew, it just needed resetting.

I appreciate it's a cottage industry etc, but yeah...

It's getting annoying that I have not ridden my less than 12 months old bike very much this year.

I just wanna know WTF is going with it frankly.
Loose...
Johnno
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:18 am
Location: Australia

PreviousNext

Return to Product Reviews

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: grzesko and 35 guests